Celadon Gives Me An Endorphin Rush

I offer some random treasures from today’s visit to the Art Institute of Chicago.  Every visit there can be a new experience.

These objects and images don’t have the crowd-drawing power of:

BUT, they take me down roads in my imagination to storied places.  With their intricate beauty or elegant simplicity, they make my senses hum.  Go to your favorite museum and skip the “regulars”– make it a point to spend time with things you never noticed before.

2 responses to “Celadon Gives Me An Endorphin Rush

  1. Heather Holdsworth

    Hi, I’ve been left a large celadon vase by my father who was given it by an Asian colleague. It’s beautiful, but large and I wondered about selling it on. Do you know of enthusiasts or a location on the web that I could post it to? Just not sure where to begin and eBay seems too general. He loved it and it’d be wonderful for it to go to someone else who would appreciate it as well. Thanks :o) Heather

    Like

    • Hi Heather,
      If it’s a hand-made, old piece it could be quite valuable. I would not post it on eBay until I had an appraisal from a reputable dealer in Asian art/ antiques. You may be able to get an appraisal by sending photos of the piece. Here is the website of an 18th and 19th century Asian antiquities dealer, who I know personally and can vouch for: http://www.pagodared.com/subscribe.php Another resource is the Arthur Sackler Museum in Washington, D.C. Good luck!
      Judith

      Like

Leave a Reply

