Golden Memories of 2015

“Make new friends, but keep the old,

One is silver and the other gold.”

My friend, Mark, had a gold mine.  As a parting gift, he handed me a large hunk of rock, laced with the unmistakable gleam of gold ore.  Until I saw that rock, I never understood gold fever.  The gold gleamed, so pure and sparkling:  a treasure from the earth, just waiting to be found.

Mark was on his way out with terminal cancer, we had come to say goodbye. In giving me the rock, Mark acknowledged what we often hear, that “you can’t take it with you.”  The gold was his magnificent obsession, but his passion was digging for treasure, not the wealth he found.  He never got around to refining most of it.

The sparkle of the gold, sitting on a shelf in my kitchen with crystals and obsidian he had given me over the years, reminds me of Mark’s intellect, his eccentricity, his house nestled in the golden hills around Santa Margarita, California.

I share with you a selection of things golden that dazzled my eyes in 2015.

In Memory of Mark Wolff.

 

Leave a Reply

